Minimum Wage in Florida Set to Increase to $8.25 an Hour in 2018
Minimum Wage in Florida Set to Increase to $8.25 an Hour
The Florida Minimum Wage is set to increase by 15 cents per hour to $8.25 on January 1, 2018.
The citizens of Florida voted in 2004 to allow the Florida Minimum Wage to increase based upon the percentage increase in the federal Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners, the hourly wage rate is increasing.
The federal overtime rate for non-exempt employees will be $12.375 per hour.
The new wage rate for non-exempt service worker employees who also earn tips (employers who utilizes the $3.02 per hour tip credit) will be $5.23 per hour for hours worked up to 40 (regular), and $9.355 for hours worked in excess of 40 hours (overtime).
Florida Statutes require employers who must pay their employees the Florida minimum wage to post a minimum wage notice in a conspicuous and accessible place in each establishment where these employees work. This poster requirement is in addition to the federal requirement (Fair Labor Standards Act Notice) to post a notice of the federal minimum wage.
Florida's minimum wage poster is available for downloading in English, Spanish, and Creole from the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity’s website at: http://www.floridajobs.org.